Parish Council

“The aims of the parish are to keep, practice, and proclaim the Orthodox Christian Faith, pure and undefiled.”

— Uniform Parish Regulations

Parish Council members represent their parish and the Orthodox Christian faith.

As leaders of the community, Parish Council members are on the front lines and are called to work with the priests, and lead the staff and parishioners at large on areas that affect our St. Mary’s parish. To serve on the council is a ministry and a mission.

The Parish Council consists of our parish’s priests who serve as spiritual leaders, and 12 members in good standing who are elected to three-year terms by the parish stewards. Every year one-third of the council is elected. The officers of the Parish Council are selected in January of each year immediately after the oath of office, and consist of President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer and Secretary.

A Message from Jeannie Possis, Parish Council President.

Hello St. Mary’s Parishioners,

As our new year begins, I want to take this opportunity to introduce you to the 2024 Parish Council Officers who were elected to their positions last Sunday. Libby Cheolis is our Secretary, Athena Mihas is our Assistant Treasurer, Cristina Nicklow is our Treasurer, Louis Tiggas is our Vice President, and I am serving my second year as your President. In addition, the Council already held its first meeting of the year and our top priorities will focus on increasing parish engagement and improving financial reporting. More details will be shared with you at our Spring Parish Assembly, scheduled for Sunday, April 21.

May God continue to bless our wonderful community at St. Mary’s!

In Christ’s Love,
Jeannie Possis
Parish Council President

Saint Mary’s 2024 Parish Council

2024 members not yet pictured: Louis Tiggas (Vice President), Elisabeth (Libby) Cheolis (Secretary), Athena Mihas (Assistant Treasurer), Benjamin Amundgaard, Alex Dascalos, Andrew LeRoy, Sophia Rouman, & Nicholas P. Santrizos.